Camino de Santiago- St. James’s Way , szlakiem świętego Jakuba (English-Polish)

It took me a long time to describe one of the most important challenges of my life- Camino de Santiago. What annoyed me the most is fact that I lost somewhere all my notes, but I will try to recall it.

Firstly desire, it is the most important thing. Without it, even the lighter bag is heavy and the shortest part of route seems to be incredibly long. I was preparing myself mentally for about three years. Finally after reading book about polish traveler, that climbed Mount Everest, I decided that I want to face my fears as well. I just wanted to check, how my organism will react for extreme conditions. Of course, I cannot compare myself with Martyna Wojciechowska (it was her book that I read), or any other alpinists, but each of us has its own Mount Everest, and my one was Camino de Santiago.

Secondary, your physical condition. I mentioned already about mental preparation, but honestly, you cannot go without that one. To be honest, since high school, me and sport were not best friends, not counting weekend bicycle trips, and dancing, so that is why I needed to work hard on it. It finds out that my legs were not able to walk in one day distance of 25-30kilometers. So since then, Pilates was my new friend, as well as swimming pool and gym. After 5 months of intensive exercises, I was again on shape, ready to face my fears, that means start my trip. I have to mention here about every night walks, that were not less important, especially when you have new shoes. Then, they are even obligatory! Simply, your feet need to get adapted to your new (old) shoes.

And finally thirdly, equipment preparations. That took me quite a long time. It is not easy for me to spend a lot of money for things that are not pretty (at least from my point of view). How non-compressive socks or trekking shoes can be pretty?!? Just impossible! Ok they can have more or less nicer color or shape, but if you compare them with red high heels they do not have any chances, at least visually. Unfortunately, that kind of equipment is not cheap at all, but fortunately I discover Decathlon sales, and for about 60 euros I could get what I needed, including small backpack. I saved about 30% of the real costs, just hunting for sales! I would like to add, that my Camino took me 15 days, so I decided that my backpack does not have to be the best quality, and I can throw it away after all. It just had to be light and comfortable. Honestly, I still use it, so in that case was cheap and solid.

Długo zabierałam się do opisania jednego z największych dla mnie wyzwań, o ile nie największego, mianowicie Camino de Santiago. Najbardziej denerwuje mnie fakt, że całe moje zapiski z drogi gdzieś zniknęły, więc postaram się odtworzyć wszystko ze szczegółami z mojej pamięci.

Po pierwsze chęć, bo to jest najważniejsze. Bez niej nawet najlżejszy plecak i najkrótsza trasa wydają się niemożliwe do przejścia. Ja szykowałam się do tej wędrówki dobre trzy lata. Skłoniła mnie w końcu książka Martyny  Wojciechowskiej Przesunąć horyzont (to nie żadna ukryta kryptoreklama). Stwierdziłam po prostu, że również chciałabym pokonać swoje słabości i sprawdzić się w ekstremalnych warunkach, zobaczyć, do czego zdolny jest mój organizm. Nie mam tu się nawet, co porównywać do tych podróżników, którzy wspinają się na szczyty oczywiście, ale każdy ma jakiś swój Mount Everest i dla mnie był nim właśnie szlak Camino de Santiago.

Po drugie przygotowanie fizyczne, o psychicznym przygotowaniu już wspomniałam, jednak to jest nie mniej ważne. Jako, ze sport nie gościł w moim życiu zbyt często, nie licząc tańca czy letnich przejażdżek rowerowych, to musiałam popracować nad swoją kondycją. Okazało się, że moje nogi są całkowicie sflaczałe i niezdolne do wędrówki. Z pomocą przyszedł mi Pilates, basen i siłownia. Po 5 miesiącach wróciłam do kondycji, jaką kiedyś, dawno, dawno temu posiadałam. Codzienne wieczorne spacery również pomagały w przygotowaniu. Są one ważne szczególnie wtedy, kiedy trzeba przygotować swoje nowe(bądź też stare) buty do długiej wędrówki. Stopy muszą się przyzwyczaić do nowych nieodłącznych przyjaciół.

Po trzecie przygotowanie sprzętu. To zajęło mi troszkę czasu i pieniędzy. Nie jest łatwo (przynajmniej mi) wydać pieniądze na rzeczy, które nie są optycznie ładne. Bo jakże skarpetki anty odciskowe, czy buty trekkingowe mogą być ładne. Ok., pewnie w jakiś stopniu mogą być ładniejsze i brzydsze, ale przy czerwonych szpilkach i tak nie mają żadnych szans(przynajmniej optycznie). Poza tym sam sprzęt nie należy do najtańszych, chociaż jak się okazało z pomocą przybył Decathlon i udało mi się skomponować niezbędne przedmioty za jakieś 60 euro, wliczając plecak. Przyznam, że Decathlon wyszedł bardzo obronnie z całego zakupu, bo promocje sprawiły, że koszty obniżyły się o dobre 30%. Dodaję, że moja wędrówka trwała tylko dwa tygodnie, więc plecak nie musiał być bardzo trwały, chociaż służy mi do dziś i jest w nienaruszonej formie.

Leave a Reply

